Green Smoothie Power!

I haven’t yet written about my love of smoothies. Mainly because it waxes and wanes. I go through periods where it’s all I want and then suddenly can’t look at another one. When you begin to have a dread, or even a sense of boredom, that’s a good a sign as any to change it up.

I had been in smoothie lust for most of this summer. And then about a month ago I stopped. Didn’t want to. Oats were back in town.

This morning however the smoothie train arrived in the station again. This is a riff on basically every green smoothie in existence. But it is delicious – zesty from the lemon and mild from the addition of zucchini – and I may be back on board the smoothie train.

Green Smoothie – Lemon and Zucchini

  • 1 cup of non-dairy milk (I use unsweetened almond)
  • 3-4 leaves of kale, roughly torn
  • 1 zucchini, chopped into chunks
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • 3-4 ice blocks
  • Handful of frozen mango chunks (maybe 3-4)
  • 1 banana, chopped into chunks
  • Juice of half a big lemon

Pretty much just chuck everything in to the blender in the order listed. Blend until smooth.

Taste and adjust the lemon juice and milk as needed.

One thought on “Green Smoothie Power!

Leave a comment